PDA

View Full Version : Gore 2/16-2/23

Harvey44
02-25-2007, 01:45 PM
Again, not really a TR, more of a story:

We just got back from 8 days skiing at the mountain. I haven't posted because we've got no web or phone at our place in North River. It's just a one room camp with a woodstove and recently added plumbing.

On Wednesday (2/14) before heading up I called Roger, our plow guy to let him know we were coming. Our driveway is real steep and I knew there was a chance he wouldn't be able to clear it. I was hoping that he could clear a spot to get our car off the road and out of the way of the plows.

Thanks to some info from Mattchuck and others I knew the roads were basically clear. Our road (Harvey Road) is pretty narrow at the top - one lane after a big dump - so that is another story.

We left on Thurs (2/15) at 1PM from NJ. On the Northway, I called Inside Edge to see if the had the fatty teley skiis I had been dreaming about for two years (K2 - World Piste 120-88-100) No luck. So I called Mountaineer in Keene Valley - ordered em by Fedex for Monday delivery. Kind of a rash move as I was sure the freshies would be packed out by Tuesday when I'd get to ski em, but I was caught up in the excitement of the storm.

We got to the bottom of the driveway at about 7:15 pm Thurs eve. I usually walk up to check it out before I try the run and gun up to the top. To look for blowdown or whatever. It turns out that Roger plowed the first 30 feet - that was as far as he could get. He really tried. I found out later that a neighbor with a front end loader had to rescue him from the ditch with a chain.