PDA

View Full Version : 4 Day Vaca: Gore vs. WF

ski_newbie
01-31-2006, 02:58 PM
Looking for suggestions/preferences on Gore vs. WF for a trip planned for March 3-7th (we've pretty much decided to avoid the chaos of VT). I'm a relative newbie although I'm holding my own lately and my boyfriend's experienced on the slopes. Since we're way down in CT, we mostly hit Mohawk for short trips and Hunter when we have a full day. Last year got a day on Whistler which was AMAZING. I can handle reasonable blues but my guy needs more challenging terrain so we're looking for trails we can split for and reconnect at times. Anyone have suggestions on the advantages/disadvantages of trips to these mountains? Anyone have a crystal ball for the weather forecast? Suggestions on great places to stay/stop/eat would also be welcome. Thanks!

Son of Drifter
02-01-2006, 11:18 AM
Welcome newbie. After 2 days you and your bf will be bored to death by the terrain at Gore. Also Lake Placid offers a lot of non skiing related activies, has a ton of great shops and great bars/resturants. Not sure about the weather forecast but unfortunately that's always a crap shoot. Come to the Olympic mountain to ski and party your asses off in LP. :twisted:

tjf67
02-01-2006, 12:31 PM