PDA

View Full Version : you know what would be cool

tjf67
11-28-2007, 12:34 PM
If on the web sight or on the trail maps they had the different trails market that were used in the 80 and 32 olympics.

I have been skiing here for 8 years and I still am sure where all the events were held.

campgottagopee
11-28-2007, 01:50 PM
I agree, and I'm surprised that don't have that info already.

Skier 4 Life
11-28-2007, 05:12 PM
If on the web sight or on the trail maps they had the different trails market that were used in the 80 and 32 olympics.

I have been skiing here for 8 years and I still am sure where all the events were held.

Just a little history... the 32 Olympics did NOT include any Alpine events at Whiteface or anywhere else. The 80 Olympics, of course, had the 3 basic disciplines, including M & W Slalom (held on Mountain Run), M & W Giant Slalom (Upper Parkway & Thruway down to Lower Valley) plus M Downhill (Upper/Lower Cloudspin to Broadway to Lower Valley) & W Downhill (Skyward to Easy Street to Boreen to Ladies Bridge to Lower Valley).

There are also a number of buildings still on the mtn. built for those events including: Men's S + GS Start House (Mtn. Run), M & W Slalom Finish Bldg. (Mtn. Run), Women's Downhill Start House (Skyward) and the M & W GS & Downhill Finish Building ('Tower 10' on Lower Valley across from Nastar at the top of the Bear lift). You may have also noticed the Finish Line scoreboards on Mtn. Run (Slalom) and Lower Valley, near the base of the Freeway lift (GS & Downhill). All structures are in their original locations except for the GS & Downhill Finish Bldg. which was moved in the mid to late 80s to the side of the (Lower Valley) trail.

And I too think its a good idea, tgf67... the trail maps and/or website should be marked somehow to show this.

highpeaksdrifter
11-28-2007, 06:09 PM