PDA

View Full Version : Slides Open Yet?

St. Jerry
01-15-2008, 02:58 PM
Read all the hype about these great slides, how they are the greatest trails in the east, and how they make Whiteface the grnarliest mountain of all time. Was wondering when they will open.

SKIdds
01-15-2008, 03:22 PM
Once we hit another 100 inches of natural and the calendar flips to March, most likely. It takes a lot for the Slides to open, but when they do.........that's some good stuff. A lot of fun. Have you checked out the photo albums in the gallery? There are a number of them. This is mine from last April.

http://forums.skiadk.com/modules.php?set_albumName=album30&op=modload&name=gallery&file=index&include=view_album.php

NPN
01-15-2008, 05:10 PM
Sadly, that thaw last week resulted in a serious layer of ice over there. End product is a very unstable base for future storms to build on. I'm no expert on avi danger, but I do know that last year they had to wait for everything to melt off before those late season storms made for a very stable situation, and some great days in the Slides.

SKIdds
01-15-2008, 05:58 PM
Sadly, that thaw last week resulted in a serious layer of ice over there. End product is a very unstable base for future storms to build on. I'm no expert on avi danger, but I do know that last year they had to wait for everything to melt off before those late season storms made for a very stable situation, and some great days in the Slides.