PDA

View Full Version : Cheapest bed in LP

Lbtchnlgs
10-27-2006, 02:28 PM
Where is the cheapest place to stay in lake placid? Ive had a pass to gore for the past 4 or 5 seasons and have been to the face before so im not a complete newbie.

Im a student so i wanna find the cheapest place to stay so i can stay at the face for 3-5 days during winter break to session the mountain.

Phineas
10-27-2006, 02:37 PM
motel/hostel on rt 73 on the way in2 LP also a hostel next to High Peaks Cycle on Main Street - heard the rooms are less than 20 a night

Lbtchnlgs
10-27-2006, 03:07 PM
20 or less? thats awesome thanks a lot

Tsavolion
10-27-2006, 03:40 PM
20 or less? thats awesome thanks a lot

or just stay in wilmington...

maybe that jackrabbit inn..just 1/4 mile closer to LP than the hostel. people stay there, i see cars there all the time. i personally would rather sleep in my car.

Lbtchnlgs
10-27-2006, 03:59 PM
I think it would be cheaper to stay in the $20 hostel. With gas prices how they are it would be at least $25 to stay warm in a car :wink:

NPN
10-27-2006, 05:11 PM
The Jackrabbit Hostel is as good as a hostel gets ( I used to stay at the Jackrabbit Motel all the time, and have friends who are regulars at the hostel, so I speak from great experience ) short of going to Europe.

The rooms are newly remodeled, crazy clean, and come with the use of a HUGE community kitchen, and common room with multiple cable TVs.

Ken ( the owner ) is a great guy to boot.

If he is full, his father runs Cascade Cross Country Ski Center just up the street, and it also offers a hostel opportunity.

There is also what I think is called The High Peaks Hostel farther down 73 right on the edge of town. Another friend of mine stayed there last year, and it seemed okay. It's a house that's been converted to a hostel, and he paid $25 a night.

Lastly, you have ADK's Heart Lake Lodge. More expensive, but meals are included.

Good luck.

kerovick
10-28-2006, 08:51 AM