PDA

View Full Version : Not really a TR: 1/19- 1/21

Harvey44
01-22-2007, 09:19 AM
Can't really call it a trip report, because I'm not good with details or days. Here's what I can remember.

All three days, coverage on any thing that was open was very good - no rocks and a nice surface. They were fairly aggressive with snowblowing, which is great for me. No matter what run I'm planning on doing if I see a gun I ski right toward it.

Friday- they weren't running the triple, which is a hassle for when you are on teles - riding the Gondi all day is a lot of work getting in and out of the bindings (want some cheese with that whine?) The summit was awesome for ambience - it snowed Thursday night and at the summit pretty much on and off all day Friday. Heavy at times - it was fun to be there. Open Pit was the place to be all weekend, no ice just white lightning. And Headwaters was deluxe too - with lots of manmade. In the afternoon they put guns on the Hawkeye headwall and most of the upper part - The Hawk was actually better in the afternoon except where they were making ice. Two guns were trashing the lower headwall and the flatter part under the lift.

Saturday - Snowed again Friday night - like 2 or 3 inches at our place (2000'). Ok now the triple was open but the wind was screaming. My first ride up it was zero at the saddle and the wind was outta control. I was fine except for my lips which are toast now from Sat and Sun combined. CB and I invented a "huddle" thingie to get through the worst part at Pole 24. HAWKEYE was now CLOSED. Showcase opened - heard it was sweet first thing with fresh on top, but I was up doing schelp runs on Open Pit which was really the highlight of the weekend - no ice.