Backcountry Daytrips

So i've been thinking the past year or so about doing a 'backcountry' 1 day ski hike in the Adirondacks. I would definitely like to go with a guide service since I have no experience doing this on my own and no idea where to go.

Is anyone aware of or can make a recommendation for a guide service? Also, any other tips or suggestions on what I should expect for terrain, additional equipment, endurance, etc..

Not sure if this would be the greatest year for it but one can dream!

BC Day Trip

Beaver Brook Outfitters in Weavertown has guides that can help you. Talk to Pete Burns there. Garnet Hill X/C Center used to lead one day Gore to Garnet Hill trips. Either one of these is a good starting spot. Yes this year will be fine for a Back Country trip it's only February, wait til you see the amount of snow by the end of March. Have Fun.

I would suggest just doing a hike that you have previously done during the summer that you recall having some decent pitch to it. Of course it will be a good idea to go with someone, but if you take it easy I think you would be fine.

My first 'backcountry' experience was hiking Hickory for turns. After you light the match all you can think about is snowshoeing/skinning all the sweet possible lines you see while driving. Snowshoes are an obvious must. Other than that just know your endurance, when you get tired turn around. Pretty common sense stuff.

Also being that there was just a big thaw you may want to use a pair of skis/board that you wouldn't mind dinging up.

Stop thinking and do it
    Listen to the wind, It'll tell you things

A guide? So how much would you pay me to show you some stuff? Just kidding.

Here's some pics from Monday in the area to whet your appetite

Slide -

Woods-

To get an idea what you can expect, heres a eastern thread at telemarktips.com appropriately named:"East Coast 08-09: It Aint Ice If Theres No Fish Underneath"

Practice in inbound glades.
    Don't go alone.