Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: super pipe?

super pipe?

So we finally get to ride the half pipe, oh horray. This is a bit lame. Actually this is wicked lame. This is supposed to be an olympic caliber mountain and we do not get a pipe until the last month of the season We're just pumping out pipe riders from this area, yea pumping them out to areas with pipes.

I'm no expert, but it looks like they could have saved a bit of time (cash) by doing more excavating/shaping work in the summer.

And how much money was spent on making the pipe this year? The number I heard from an employee (not fact) was in the hundreds of thousands. Suppose passes go up next year too right.

I wonder...would they have even bothered making one this year if the competetion had not come?

I agree, I was pretty dissapointed in Whiteface this season in the pipe department. They have a perfect setup to regulate the pipe riders exclusively with their own lift. Set up some rails on the lead in. I think that would make skiers happy, as well as boarders.

Quote Originally Posted by AdironRider
    I agree, I was pretty dissapointed in Whiteface this season in the pipe department. They have a perfect setup to regulate the pipe riders exclusively with their own lift. Set up some rails on the lead in. I think that would make skiers happy, as well as boarders.
    It looked like to me they were trying all year to get the thing up and going. They just kept getting busted. January they could not make snow.

How could they make it better.

I say but a tent over the whoel thing and blow snow underneath it. Like those plastic things they put over feed for cows. That will allow all the snow blown to get to the pipe as well as avoid erosion from the rain when it comes. Different? Yes but I think it would work.

Re: super pipe?

Quote Originally Posted by frashdog